China’s New Top Seven

Every ten years, China gets a set of leaders. At the apex is the seven-member standing committee of the politburo. Its members are now, in rank order:

  • Xi Jinping, 59, Vice President of China (soon to be President presumably), General Secretary of the Communist Party of China, Chairman of the Central Military Commission, President of the Central Party School.
  • Li Keqiang, 57, the second-ranking, soon to take over as Premier presumably
  • Zhang Dejiang, 65, Chongqing party boss
  • Yu Zhengsheng, 67, party boss of Shanghai
  • Liu Yunshan, 65, director of the party’s propaganda department
  • Wang Qishan, 64, former mayor of Beijing
  • Zhang Gaoli, 65, party chief of Tianjin

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s